Day Thirteen – Austin, BBQ, Family and Friends

We had a wonderful lazy morning eating breakfast casserole and hanging out on the patio enjoying the sunshine. I couldn’t help checking the weather back in Seattle and allowing myself a small self-satisfied smirk. Spoiler: It’s gross in the Emerald City.

The book? A mystery called Birdman by Mo Hayder.

The book? A mystery called Birdman by Mo Hayder.

Allison spent some time writing postcards (don’t get excited–she just writes her name and sometimes doodles).

These are postcards of New Orleans.

These are postcards of New Orleans.

And then she got to drive PePaw’s golf cart. She calls it a “go-cart.”

PePaw: We need to let the truck pass. Allison: Let's bump into it!

PePaw: We need to let the truck pass. Allison: Let’s bump into it!

I have awesome memories of this town. The top two are attending the Women in Games Conference and meeting Elijah Wood.

I have awesome memories of this town. The top two are attending the Women in Games Conference and meeting Elijah Wood.

We drove into Austin and picked up Auntie Kiki Lewis. I pointed out Kiki’s mustang and told Allie that she was almost born in it. You see, Allison decided to arrive two weeks early, when Dana was in Cherry Point, NC and the only other person in the household capable of driving (my then-18 year old son) was at an all night LAN party.

I called Kiki in a panic and she managed to get us to the hospital in time. Then when Dana was deployed, Kiki took the video of Allison’s first steps. So you can see that Kiki has been very important in our lives–and yet she hasn’t seen Allison in three years!

Anyway, it was a nice reunion for the two, and we celebrated with lunch at Salt Lick.

Kiki's hair looks extra cool in this photo.

Kiki’s hair looks extra cool in this photo.

Allison and Kiki at Salt Lick

photo (65)

We listened to Junie B. Jones #7 on the way back to Georgetown, and though Allison fell asleep, Dana and I listened until the end. We’re kinda addicted to those things, I think.

When we got back to MeMaw and PePaw’s Auntie Shawna and cousin Sadie had arrived! We hung out on the patio and chatted and put stickers in Allie’s book from the Kennedy Space Center.

IMG_20140423_174901Allison amused us all by doing impersonations of animals (dolphins, butterflies, even a sloth) objects (buttered toast is HILARIOUS) and people. This is part of the Mommy impression which involves speaking in a high-pitched voice and waving her arms. (“help help my house is on fire!” “Oh no, I need to poop my pants!” and “I’m cold, I’m going to put on a sweater!”)

"My name is Mommy and I poop in my pants. Poop! Poop! Poop!"

“My name is Mommy and I poop in my pants. Poop! Poop! Poop!”

It was funny until she pulled her t-shirt up and said “This is my disco shirt!” Then Dana gave me a funny look and asked just what the heck has been going on for the last six years that he’s lived on the other coast.

Dana’s favorite thing today was the brisket.

Allison’s favorite part was playing with her cousin Sadie. They’re having a sleepover tonight!

My favorite part was seeing Kiki!

 

 

About trixie360

The not-so secret identity of author Christa Charter.

One thought on “Day Thirteen – Austin, BBQ, Family and Friends

Leave a Reply

