Day Twenty-Three – Ukiah, CA to Roseberg, OR

After being up most of the night with this sad, feverish creature we had to make a tough decision.

Karmic payback for being a douche at Disney? If so, why are Mommy and Daddy suffering too?!

Karmic payback for being a douche at Disney? If so, why are Mommy and Daddy suffering too?!

Rather than continue up Highway 101, stop in Portland overnight and then do a four-hour drive to Redmond on Sunday, we decided to forgo the Redwoods this time around, head over to I-5 and break the trip home into two six-and-a-half-hour days.

430 miles and one state line!

430 miles and one state line!

 

We stopped in Willows, CA for lunch at the Brown Bear Diner. Allie’s appetite and attitude both seemed to be on the mend after sleeping in the car.

IMG_20140503_142836

When we reached Shasta National Forest and I saw the thousands of acres of evergreen trees I got a rush of familiar happiness that comes with comfort food: these are my trees. I know this landscape. I’m almost home.

Mt. Shasta in her "skirt" made out of clouds.

Mt. Shasta in her “skirt” made out of clouds.

We finally, FINALLY crossed the state line into Oregon,

Oregon State Line

And will spend our last night on the road at a Holiday Inn in Roseberg, OR. Can’t complain about the river view!

Roseberg view

We’re disappointed about the Redwoods, but we DID get to see the Grand Canyon which wasn’t originally in the plan. And it will give us a great reason for another road trip in the future.

Tomorrow: HOME.

 

 

About trixie360

The not-so secret identity of author Christa Charter.

2 thoughts on “Day Twenty-Three – Ukiah, CA to Roseberg, OR

  1. Congrats Brother. It’s been fun watching you make your victory lap over the past few weeks. I must say that I am envious, and in fact was talking to one of my Marine’s about it today. I told him that I needed a pilot to help me do my victory lap, and had to one up you- going around the world…hopefully next year.
    Semper Fidelis Brother, and keep the stories coming!

    • It’s been a great trip and experienced some great things. Planning a few smaller trips in the future. Good luck with your own trip! I hope you blog it as well!

Leave a Reply

